/ Attractions

Indian Cinema History

Posted by Arun Mohan ~ on ~ 0 comments

Indian Cinema History: India is the country where most of the films released compared to other countries. It was in 1896, the first Indian film screened. Lumier Brothers screened the film in Watson’s hotel of Mumbai. About six silent films were screened for first time in India. Pundalik is the first film released in India. The movie Pundalik was released in 1912. The film was produced by Dadasaheb Torne. The first Indian cinema which completely shoots in India is Raja Harishchandra. Dhundiraj Govind Phalke is the producer of the movie that released in 1931. He is fondly called as the Dadasaheb Phalke. He is also called as the father of Indian Cinema. Keechaka Vadham released in 1918 is the first film produced by Rangaswamy Natarahja Muthaliar. The earlier movies around the years, 1990s and 1930s were silent movies. The first sound film is Alam Aara released in 1931. Ardeshir Irani directed the film. The first cinema released with background music is Chandidas in 1932. Also the Bhagya Chakra (1935) a Bengali feature film directed by Nitin Bose released with songs. Kisan Kanya is the first color cinema of India released in 1937. Dadasaheb Phalke Award is the highest honour given by Indian Government. It was from 1969, the Phalke Award given for respected film personalities. Devika Rani Roerich got the first Phalke Award. She is also called as the Lady of Indian Cinema. The only malayalee who won Phalke Award is Adoor Gopalakrishnan in 2004. The blockbuster movie shown in record days is Dilwale Dulhania Le Jayenge. The Hindi Film, Sholay is the film which runs for more than 5 years in a single theatre called “Minerva cinema”. Ramesh Sippy is the director of Sholay movie.

The movie Indra Sabha holds the record of a film having most songs (71 songs). MGR and NTR are the persons who became the chief minister of Tamil Nadu and Andhra Pradesh respectively after acting the actor’s role in the films. Janaki Ramachandran and Jayalalitha are the actresses who became Chief Ministers. It was in 1954, the national awards started to give. Shivaji Rao Gaikwad is the original name of actor Rajinikanth. Satyajit Ray is the world famous director born in Bengal. Pather Panjali is the most popoular film directed by him. The actress Nargis Dutt is called as the “First Women of Indian Cinema”. She is the first women to get Padmashree Award. Fatima Rashid is the original name of Nargis Dutt. She is the first women to get national award for best actress. She is also first women actress to get a nomination in Rajya Sabha. The Nargis Dutt Award is given for Best Feature Film on National Integration. The state with the most number of cinema halls in India is Andhra Pradesh. The world’s largest cinema studio is Ramoji Film City. It is located at Hyderabad of Andhra Pradesh. The first 3D Film of India is My Dear Kuttichattan. Bhanu Athaiyais the first Oscar award winner in India. She got the award for best Costume Designer in the movie “Gandhi” in 1982. It was in 1992, the Satyajit Ray got the special Oscar award.

It was from 1954, the national award started to given. The first golden lotus award for best feature film is given to Shyamchi Aai. Shyamchi Aai is directed by P K Atre. Neelakuyil from Malayalam got the silver lotus award for the second best film. It was from the year 1968, the national award for Best Actor, Best Actress started to given. Uttam Kumar is the first best actor. Seetha is the first international award winning movie. It was in 1952, the international award started to given. Goa is the venue. Golden Peacock Awards for best Movie and best new director. Mumbai is the head quarters of Film Division. It was founded in 1948. It was in Pune, the national film archive of india started its working in 1964. Film and Television institute of India started at Pune.

Central Board of Film Certification (CBFC) started in 1952. Mumbai is its head quarters and it is also called Censor Board. They gave the certificates, U, U/A, A, S. U is given to family movies. U/A is given for watching the people above 12 years old. A is given for watching above 18 years old and the S certificate is given for watching doctors and other specialties. The National film development corporation came into existence in 1975. There are six silent films screened for the general public in 1896. They are The Zeebath Award, Arrival of a tries, A Demolition, Ladies and Soldiers on wheels, Entry of Cinematography and the Lining the Factory. The first Division Started it’s working in 1948 January. Mumbai is its Head Quarters. Children’s film society came into existence in 1955. The Konidala Siva Sankara Vara Prasad is the Original name of Chiranjeevi. Prithviraj Kapoor is the first film actor who nominated to Rajya Sabha.

Related Posts

No comments:

Leave a Reply

Popular Posts

Total Pageviews