/ Attractions

Man Booker, Right Livelihood and Magsaysay Awards

Posted by Arun Mohan ~ on ~ 0 comments

Man Booker Prize

Kiran Desai won Man Booker Prize in 2006 for the novel “The Inheritance of Loss”. She is also the youngest women to get the Man Booker Prize. Arundhati Roy is the first Indian to get Man Booker Prize and it was in 1997. Aravind Adiga’s debut novel “The White Tiger” won the 2008 Man Booker Prize. Hilary Mantel’s Bring Up the Bodies got the Man Booker Prize in 2012. She won twice the Man Booker Prize.

Right Livelihood Award

Right Livelihood Award is also called as Alternative Nobel Prize. Ruth Manorama won the award for Right Livelihood Award. Jakob von Uexkull introduced the award in 1980. It is distributed through Swedish Parliament. Self-Employed Women's Association is the first to get Right Livelihood Award from India. Kerala Sasthra Sahithya Parishad got the Award in 1906.

Magsaysay Award

It is called as the nobel prize of Asia. Vinoba Bhave is the first Indian to won Magsaysay Award. The first Indian women who got this award is Mother Theresa. Prakash Amte and his wife Mandakini Amte got Magsaysay Award for Community Leadership in 2008. 

Related Posts

No comments:

Leave a Reply