/ Attractions

Bharat Ratna, a brief History:

Bharat Ratna is the highest honor given by Indian Government. It was in 1954, the first Bharat Ratna Award was given and it is for Dr S Radhakrishnan and Rajagopalachary and CV Raman. CV Raman, Mother Theresa and Amartya Sen got both the Bharatratna and Nobel Prizes. Jawaharlal Nehru in 1955 got the Bharat Ratna. He is also the first Prime Minister to get the honour. Dr Rajendra Prasad is the first president to get Bharatratna in 1963. Dr S Radhakrishnan is the first vice president to get the Honour in 1954. Lal Bahadur Shastri posthumously awarded the Bharat Ratna in 1980. Khan Abdul Ghaffar Khan is the first foreign to get Bharat Ratna in 1987. Nelson Mandela got Bharat Ratna in 1990. MGR is the first film Star to get Bharat Ratna in 1988. DR BR Ambedkar got the honour in 1990. Satyajit Ray got all the four honours – Padmashree, Padma Bhushan, Padma Vibhushan and Bharat Ratna (1992). He also got Dasa Saheb Falkhe Award and the Oscar Award.

Morarji Desai is the only man to get both India and Pakistan’s highest honor. He got Bharat Ratna from Indian Government and Nishan-e-Pakistan from Pakistan Government. Both are highest Civilian Honors. Gulzarilal Nanda (1997) got the Bharat Ratna and is on the oldest age to receive the honor. Ex President Dr Abdul Kalam also got the award in 1997. Aruna Asaf Ali is the first women to posthumously award the Bharat Ratna in 1997. MS Subhalakshmi is the first women singer to receive the honor. In 1992, Government decided to give Bharat Ratna to Subhash Chandra Bose. But due to some political conflicts, the honor was cancelled. Ustad Bismillah Khan and Latha Mangeshkar got the Bharat Ratna in 2001. Bhimsen Joshi, Hindustani classical singer got the honor in 2008.
Man Booker Prize

Kiran Desai won Man Booker Prize in 2006 for the novel “The Inheritance of Loss”. She is also the youngest women to get the Man Booker Prize. Arundhati Roy is the first Indian to get Man Booker Prize and it was in 1997. Aravind Adiga’s debut novel “The White Tiger” won the 2008 Man Booker Prize. Hilary Mantel’s Bring Up the Bodies got the Man Booker Prize in 2012. She won twice the Man Booker Prize.

Right Livelihood Award

Right Livelihood Award is also called as Alternative Nobel Prize. Ruth Manorama won the award for Right Livelihood Award. Jakob von Uexkull introduced the award in 1980. It is distributed through Swedish Parliament. Self-Employed Women's Association is the first to get Right Livelihood Award from India. Kerala Sasthra Sahithya Parishad got the Award in 1906.

Magsaysay Award

It is called as the nobel prize of Asia. Vinoba Bhave is the first Indian to won Magsaysay Award. The first Indian women who got this award is Mother Theresa. Prakash Amte and his wife Mandakini Amte got Magsaysay Award for Community Leadership in 2008. 


Total Pageviews