/ Attractions

PSC Class 129: Planets, Satellites and Dwarf Planets

Posted by Arun Mohan ~ on ~ 0 comments

Planets: There are eight planets in solar system.

The Planets in solar system is Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus and Neptune.

Jupiter is the biggest planet in our Solar System.

Neptune is the farthest planet from sun.

Venus is the hottest planet.

Uranus is the coldest planet.

Jupiter has the most satellites. Mercury and Venus have no satellites. Mars has 2 satellites and Earth have 1 satellite. Jupiter has the most satellites. It has 63 moons. Saturn has 31, Uranus has 27 and Neptune has 13 satellites respectively.

Earth is the fifth largest planet in the solar system.

The brightest planet is Venus.

Earth is called as the blue planet. Also Earth has most density and Saturn has least density.

Jupiter is the planet where objects feel highest weight.

Mercury has least days in a year, whereas Neptune has the most days in a year.

Venus has the lengthiest day. Jupiter has the least hours in a day.

Saturn is the second largest planet. Saturn has an attractive ring surrounding it.

The Uranus planet was discovered by William Herschel in 1781.

Neptune was discovered in 1846 by Urbain Le Verrier, Johann Gottfried Galle and John Couch Adams.

Jupiter has the Great Red Spot whereas Neptune has the Great Dark Spot.

It is the presence of iron in Mars that gives its color Red.

Liberty, equality, fraternity were the rings of Neptune. The fastest wind is occurred in Neptune.

The planet, Mercury was given its name taken from Romans god of Trade named “Mercury”, whereas for Venus, the name is taken from the name of the Roman goddess of love “Venus”. Similarly Mars from Roman war god”Mars”.

For the last 60,000 years, the planet mars come close to earth in 2003 August 27.

Mars is similar to earth in which the planet contains seasons.

The highest peak of solar system, Olympus Mons is located in Mars.

 According to Indian Mythology, Jupiter is called as Brihaspati.

Comet Shoemaker–Levy 9 is the star that broke apart and collided with Jupiter in July, 1994.

Uranus is the first discovered planet with the help of Telescope.

Satellites: Ganymede is the largest Natural Satellite in Solar System that is rotating Jupiter.

Mars has two known Satellites (moons), Phobos and Deimos. The Phobos of Mars is called as Black Moon.

Ganymede, Callisto, Io and Europa are the satellites of Jupiter. It is founded by Galileo Galilei in 1610.

The satellite of Saturn, Titan is similar to earth. Titan is the only satellite that have atmosphere similar to earth. Christiaan Huygens is the scientist who founded the Titan. Nitrogen is the most abundant gas in Titan. The second largest satellite of solar system is Titan of Saturn.

Dwarf Planet: It was in 2006, Pluto lost the status of Planet. It will now know in the name of Dwarf Planet.

It was in 1930, Clyde Tombaugh discovered Pluto. Charon is the largest moon that rotating the Pluto. Also Nix and Hydra are other moons rotating the Pluto.

In the Solar System, there are five dwarf planets. They are Pluto, Eris, Ceres, Haumea and Makemake.

Eris is the largest Dwarf Planet.

Dysnomia is the moon that rotates Eris.

The largest Asteroid, Ceres is also a dwarf planet.

Trans-Neptunian object (TNO) is rotating sun at a distance larger than Neptune. Sedna, Varuna and Quaoar are expamples.

Related Posts

No comments:

Leave a Reply


Total Pageviews