/ Attractions

Tales from Hinduism

Posted by Arun Mohan ~ on ~ 0 comments

Hinduism is the third most group in world population and almost 15 percent of world population belongs to Hindu Religion. Ramayana and Mahabharata are the holy books of Hindus.Hinduism is considered as the most oldest religion in the world.The origin of Hinduism was in India in between the Vedic Period, 2000 BC and 1500 BC. The word “Hindu” is derived from the historic Sanskrit name of Indus River called Sindhu. This river is located in the northwestern part of the Indian subcontinent. India is named after the Indus River in the 5th century. Bharat is the other name taken from Sanskrit for India. But it was in the 13th century, the name Hindustan emerged as a popular alternative name for the Indian subcontinent. Later it was again replaced by the name, India.

The term Hinduism for Hindu religion were believed to be used somewhere from 14th century. The term Hinduism was mentioned in Sanskrit texts, Rajataranginis written in AD 1450. However the term is added to English language in the 19th century. Ohm is the symbol of Hinduism (shown in figure). Hinduism can be defined as the fusion of various Indian cultures with a set of religious beliefs and traditions. Idol fixing and worship of Deities is common in Hinduism. There is a general perception that Hindus believe in 33 crore deities symbolizing infinite forms of God. Hinduism is the major religion in India. Today Hinduism was followed by around 1 billion people in the world, which contributes 15 percent of world population. Some of the Countries which have majority followers for Hinduism include Nepal, India, Mauritius and Fiji.

Beliefs: Prominent themes in Hindu beliefs include Dharma, Samsara, Karma, Moksha and the various Yogas. Traditionally the life of a Hindu is divided into four Ashramas (phases of life). They are Brahmacharya,  Grihastha,  Vanaprastha and Sannyasa.

Vaishnavism, Shaivism, Shaktism and Smartism are the four major denominations of Hindu. Vaishnavas worship Vishnu, Shaivites worship Shiva, Shaktas worship Shakti  (female divinity) and Smartas worship Panchadeva or Shanmata.

Objectives of human life, Dharma, Artha, Kama and Moksa.

Hindu society has been categorized into four classes, called varnas. They are Brahmins, Kshatriyas, Vaishyas and Shudras.

Hindu practices yoga, ayurvedic health, divination (astrology, palmistry and numerology), tantric sexuality through Neotantra and Kamasutra.

The Sacred Texts used by Hindu’s were,

Rigveda, Samaveda, Yajurveda, Atharvaveda, Upanishads, Bhagavad Gita, Manusmriti , Ramayana, Mahabharata, Samkhya Sutra, Mimamsa Sutra, Arthashastra, Nyaya Sutra, Vaiseshika Sutra, Yoga Sutras of Patanjali, Brahma Sutra, Puranas, Shiva Sutras, Abhinavabharati, Yoga Vasistha.

The stories (tale) taken from the sacred texts of Hinduism is explained below.

1. World Creation according to Hinduism

2. Lineage of Hindu Gods and Demons

To be Continued...

Related Posts


Total Pageviews