/ Attractions

World Creation according to Hinduism

Posted by Arun Mohan ~ on ~ 0 comments

World Creation according to Hinduism: There is no one simple account of creation of World/Universe, and there are many detailed and inter-related stories in different Puranas. Rigveda, the earliest hindu text mentioned about the creation of universe. It explains that due to the process of Hiranyagarbha ("golden embryo"), universe is formed. Hiranyagarbha can be compared with the “world egg” found in several creation myths. According to Nasadiya Sukta of Rigveda, God came into being after the world's creation, and there are no evidences on when the world first came into being. Brahma, Vishnu and Shiva are the trinity of gods in Hinduism. Brahma is considered as creator, Vishnu as protector and Shiva as destructor. These trinities can be compared with Cyclical Universe Theory in physical cosmology. According to Cyclical Universe Theory, Big Bang is birth of the universe (Brahma), life of the universe (Vishnu), and the Big Crunch is destruction of the universe (Shiva).

In Purusha Sukta of Rigveda, Purusha is described as the primeval cosmic being, his mind is Moon, his eyes are Sun, and his breath is the wind. Viraj is a primeval goddess and is considered as the secondary creator, which splited from Purusha and Purusha in turn is born from Viraj. In, Manu Smriti 1.32, it is mentioned that Brahma divided Purusha into two as male and female. It is from Purusha’s body, the world and the varnas (classes) are built. The female Viraj produced Svayambhuva Manu who later created the ten Prajapatis. Prajapati means protector and preserver (King). According to Srimad Bhagavatam, the Prajapatis were Vishvakarman, Marichi, Atri, Angiras, Pulastya, Pulaha, Kratu, Vasishtha, Daksha and Bhrigu. Vishvakarman headed the ten Prajapatis and these Prajapatis performed the creation of the remaining Universe.

According to Hindu cosmology, the universe is cyclically created and destroyed in once every 4.1 to 8.2 billion years, which is one full day for Brahma. The world is passing through Yugas. It is changed from Golden Age of Satya Yuga to Dark Age of Kali Yuga.  The Yugas passed were Satya Yuga, Treta Yuga, Dwapara Yuga and Kali Yuga. These four yugas follow a timeline ratio of (4:3:2:1).

Satya Yuga: Virtue reigns supreme. Human height was 21 cubits. Normal human lifetime was 100,000 years. The duration of the Satya-yuga is 1,728,000 years. The avatars of Vishnu in Satya Yuga were Matsya, Kurma, Varaha and Narasimha.

Treta Yuga: There was 3 quarter virtue & 1 quarter sin. Human height was 14 cubits. Normal human lifetime was 10,000 years. The duration of the Treta-yuga is 1,296,000 years. The avatars of Vishnu in Treta Yuga were Vamana, Parashurama and Rama.

Dwapara Yuga: There was 1 half virtue & 1 half sin. Human height was 7 cubits. Normal human lifetime was 1000 years. The duration of the Dwapara Yuga is 864,000 years. The avatars of Vishnu in Dwapara Yuga were Balarama and Krishna.

Kali Yuga: There is 1 quarter virtue & 3 quarter sin. Human height is 3.5 cubits. Normal human lifetime will be 100 years. The human lifetime will decrease to 20 years at the end of Kali Yuga. The duration of the Kali Yuga is 432,000 years. Kalki in Kali Yuga is the tenth avatar of Vishnu. We are living in the Kali Yuga.

Related Posts


Total Pageviews