/ Attractions

PSC Class 90: Indian National Congress

Posted by Arun Mohan ~ on ~ 0 comments

1. Indian National Congress which led India to freedom was formed in 1885. Congress, which is the first political party of India, is also considered as the biggest democratic political party of world. The most oldest political party of India is also Congress.

2. The meeting of formation of congress is held in 1885 December 28 to 31 in Gokul Das Tejpal sanskrit college of bombay. 72 representatives participated.

3. The founder of Congress is a british, Allan Octavian Hume.

4. WC Banerjee is the chairman of first meeting of Congress. WC Banerjee is also the first president of Congress.

5. Lord Dufferin was the british viceroy during the formation of Congress.

6. It was G Subramoniya Iyer, who introduced the first motion during the organization in the formation of Congress.

7. The second meeting of Congress was held in Kolkata. Dadabai Naoroji was the second president.

8. Badruddin Tyabji is the first muslim president of Congress. George Yule is the first foreign president.

9. C Shankaran Nair is the only malayalee president of Congress (during Amaravati meeting in 1897). William Wedderburn is the two time foreign president.

10. It was in the Surat Conference of 1907, split between the extremists and moderates of congress occurred. Rash Behari Ghosh was the president. The merge of both the groups happened in Lucknow meeting in 1916. AC Majumdar is the president.

11. Annie Besant is the first women president of Congress.

12. Sarojini Naidu (1925) is the first indian women to become Congress President.

13. It was in the Belgum Conference of 1924, which is the only time Gandhi is elected as the president of Congress. It was in 1934, Gandhiji declared that he is leaving Congress.

14. Jawaharlal Nehru is elected as Congress President for first time in Lahore Conference in 1929, where Subash Chandra Bose is elected as Congress President for first time in Haripura Conference in 1938.

15. JB Kripalini is the congress president, when India got freedom. Pattabhi Sitaramaiah was the first congress president after Indian Independence.

16. Jawaharlal Nehru is elected as Congress President for most time.

17. It was in the Lahore Conference of 1929, the declaration of historical ‘Poorna Swaraj’ is made by Jawaharlal Nehru who was the then president of Congress.

18. It was in the Conference held in Mumbai, the ‘Quit India’ movement was presented by Congress in 1942. ‘Quit India’ Movement was prepared by Jawaharlal Nehru. Congress celebrated 1942 August 9 as Quit India Day.

19. Sonia Gandhi is the most served women congress president. Other women who adorned the post of congress president were Annie Besant, Sarojini Naidu, Nellie Sengupta and Indira Gandhi.

20. The famous congress policy formation conference was held in Avadi in 1955, which is the Socialist social factor for India.

Related Posts

No comments:

Leave a Reply


Total Pageviews