/ Attractions

PSC Class 91: Governor Generals of India

Posted by Arun Mohan ~ on ~ 0 comments

1. For the reason, in which Robert Clive became the leader in several ultimate victorious wars of British administration in India, he is called as the ‘Babur of British India’. Robert Clive is also the first British Governor of Bengal (1758).

2. It was through the Regulating Act of 1773 in India, the british governor general post came into existence.

3. Warren Hastings was the first British Governor General. He stopped the Di administration of Bengal.

4. Cornwallis is the governor general who started the Tax System called Permanent settlement in Bengal.

5. General Wellesley is the governor who developed the Armal helping system in the local countries of India.

6. It was William Bentinck, who stopped ‘Sati’ in 1829. Adoption Rights Prohibition Law was conducted by Dalhousie.

7. The Governor General of India who opened the first railway track from Bombay to Thane in 1853 is Dalhousie. Postal Department and Transport Department was started in india during his period.

8. Canning is the last governor general and also the first viceroy of British India. It was during his period, the Adoption Rights Prohibition law was withdrawn.

9. It was lord lytton, who established the notorious native language newspaper law in 1879.

10. It was the Viceroy, Lord Curson who partitioned Bengal in 1905. Bengal Partition was cancelled during the period of Lord Hardinge in 1911.

11. It was Curson, who said the words ‘We will rule India like our ancestors with Guns and Swords’.

12. It was Mount Batten, who was the first governor general of Independent India and also the last viceroy of British India.

13. C Rajagopalachari is the only and last governor general of India.

14. ‘Balcon Project’ is the Viceroy Mountbatten’s project for partitioning Independent India as India and Pakistan.

15. Warren Hastings is the only governor general who was impeached by British Parliament. Lord Mayo is the only viceroy who was killed in India. He was killed during his visit in Andaman in 1872.

16. Cornwallis is the father of Indian Civil Service.

17. Wellesley is mentioned himself as ‘Bengal Tiger’.

18. Wellesley is called as ‘Akbar of British India’.

19. William Bentinck is the father of modern western education of India.

20. Dalhousie is the creator of Modern India.

21. Ripon is the father of native self government of India.

22. It was during the period of Viceroy Canning in 1863, the budget  was introduced for first time in India.

23. Dufferin was the viceroy, when Indian National Congress was formed.

24. It was during the period of Lord Ripon in 1881, the first census was conducted in India.

25. Lord Wavell is the viceroy, when Indian Independence Act was passed in British Parliament.

26. Chelmsford is the viceroy, when Jallianwalla Bag Massacre was happened.

27. Linlithgow is the viceroy during the Quit India Movement.

28. Irwin is the viceroy when First Round Table Conference is conducted. 

Related Posts

No comments:

Leave a Reply


Total Pageviews