/ Attractions

PSC Class 120: Famous Personalities of Kerala

Posted by Arun Mohan ~ on ~ 0 comments

Sree Narayana Guru:

1. Sree Narayana Guru is the social reformer who was considered as the ‘father of kerala renaissance’. He is the great saint, who expressed the message ‘Man of any religion, should be good’.
2. Sree Narayana Guru was born in 1854 August 20 in Vayalvarathu veedu of Chempazhanthy village of Thiruvananthapuram district. The parents of Sree Narayana Guru were Madanasan and Kuttiyamma.
3. His famous Aruvippuram Consecration (Siva) was in the year 1888.
4. SNDP Yogam was founded in 1903 and Guru became the life time President and Kumaranasan as Secretary.
5. Guru founded the Advaitasrama at Aluva on the banks of Periyar in Kollam Era, 1090. He gave the message ‘‘One caste, One Religion, One God for Man’’ at a conference held at the advaitasrama (1915).
6. It was Sree Narayana Guru, who advised with words –‘Strengthen with Society and Satisfy with Education’.
7. In 1922, Tagore visited Sree Narayana Guru. Gandhiji visited Guru at Sivagiri in 1925.
8. Sri Narayana Guru died on 20 September 1928 (5 Kanni 1104 KE)
9. ‘Atmopadesh Satakam’’, ‘‘Darsanamala’’, ‘Jatimeemamsa’, ‘‘Nirvriti Panchakam’’, ‘Ardhanareeswara Sthothram’ etc are the major works of Guru.

K Kelappan:

1. K Kelappan is one of the famous social reformers of Kerala. He is called as ‘Kerala Gandhi’.
2. He was born in Moodadi near Payyoli in 1890 September 9.
3. Kelappan made a relation with Mannath Padmanabhan while working as a college lecture in Changanassery St Burkman College in 1914. He became the president of Nair Bhruthya Janasangham. It is later changed to NSS.
4. He contributed a prominent role in solving the Mappila Revolt in 1921.
5. Jailed during Vaikom Sathyagraha in 1924.
6. He became the Editor of Mathrubhumi in 1929.
7. In Malabar, K. Kelappan led the Salt Satyagraha, walked from Calicut to Payyannur to break the Salt law.
8. He led the Guruvayur Satyagraha. It was K Kelappan, who was elected as first satyagrahi of Kerala when Mahatma Gandhi announced Satyagraha.
9. Resigned from Congress in 1951. Leader of Congress Socialist Party, Kisan Mastoor Party.
10. Resigned from Politics in 1955. After that worked in Renaissance Institution for the rest of the period of life.
11. Died in 1971 October 6.

AK Gopalan:

1. The pioneer among communist party members of kerala. He is known in kerala politics as favourite leader of labourers and a great revolutionist among the famous politicians of kerala history. He is also known as the ‘leader of poors’.
2. He was born in Mavilayi of Kannur district in 1902 July. Father is Rairu Nambiyar and mother is Madhavi Amma.
3. Active in Foreign clothes banning and Khadi promotions in 1927.
4. Arrested for breaking the Salt Law in 1930.
5. Captain of Guruvayur Satyagraha March in 1931. AKG is also the leader of Guruvayur Satyagraha Volunteers.
6. Elected in 1934 as secretary of KPCC.
7. Congress Socialist Party was formed in May 1934.
8. He led the ‘Pattini Jatha’ from Kannur to Madras in July 1936. There were 32 persons in the March.
9. Leader of Malabar March, who were sent for supporting Independence Struggle in Travancore in 1938.
10. Activist in Labour Struggle in Alappuzha.
11. Kerala Committee Secretary of Communist Party in 1944.
12. Elected as All India Kisan Sabha president in 1952. Became Member of Parliament.
13. Arrested for his participation in Gujarat Agitation in 1956.
14. Led the walking march from Kasargod to Thiruvananthapuram in 1966. Submitted the memorandum which includes farmer problems to Government.
15. ‘Micha Bhumi’ Strike in 1971. Arrested for strike in Mudavanmugal Palace.
16. AKG was died in 1977 March 22.
17. The biography of AKG is ‘Ente Jeevitha Katha’.

EMS Namboothiripad:

1. Elamkulam Manaikal Sankaran Namboothiripad is the full name of EMS. The pioneer among Socialist – Marxist activists. The first chief minister of Kerala by Election.
2. Born at Elamkulam Mana near Perinthalmanna in Malappuram in 1909 June 13.
3. Fought against hateful customs of Namboothiri communities. Joined National Movement during his college days.
4. Formed the Congress Socialist Party in 1934. All India Joint Secretary till 1940.
5. Elected in Madras Legislative Assembly in 1939.
6. Sided with CPI (M), when communist party split in 1964. Central Cabinet member of CPI (M) and Polit Bureau member (continued as PB member till his death).
7. General Secretary of CPI (M) in 1977.
8. Communist Party won in 1957 election, which was led by EMS.
9. Kerala Chief Minister in 1957 April 5.
10. EMS is the first communist leader of Asia, who came to administration through Ballot.
11. Dismissed the Government in 1959. Chief Minister for second time in 1967.
12. Opposition leader during the periods, 1960 – 64 and 1970 -77.
13. He is also a writer, the author of several scripts in Malayalam and English.
14. EMS is the most served (in period) opposition leader of Kerala.
15. Died in 1998 March 19.

Related Posts


Total Pageviews