/ Attractions

Chapter 05: The Birth of Gods and Manu

Posted by Arun Mohan ~ on ~ 0 comments

Lord Brahma was considered as the creator of universe. Lord Brahma is considered to be originated by Swayambhu and he is the First Manu. He had created six Manasaputras (Mind born of Brahma). They are considered equal to Prajapatis (progenitors of all beings in creation). The Manasaputras of Lord Brahma were Marichi (Second Manu), Angiras, Atri, Pulastya, Pulaha and Kratu. Some of the offspring born from Brahma's body parts are Dharma, Adharma, Krodha, Lobha, Bhrigu and others.Later through these offspring and manasaputras - Devas, Asuras, Planets, Gandarvas, Apsaras and others were born through their generations.

Kashyapa was born to Marichi. Kashyapa (Third Manu) is considered as the father of humanity since it was from him; the entire earthly creatures were born. Brihaspati was born to Angira. Brihaspati (Jupiter) later became the guru of gods. Shukra was born to Bhrigu. Shukra (Venus) later became the guru of asuras. Let us go through the generations of Kashyapa from Satya Yuga to Kali Yuga.
Daksha Prajapati (one of the Prajapati) was born out of the right thumb of Brahma, whereas Bhudevi was born out of the left thumb of Brahma. It is believed that the union of a man and a woman started from Daksha Prajapati and Bhudevi. Bhudevi produced thousand sons and fifty daughters. None of his sons married, they practiced Sankhya Yoga and attained Moksha. Daksha Prajapati married thirteen of his daughters to Rishi Kashyap, ten of his daughters to Dharma and the remaining twenty seven daughters, who are Nakshatras to Chandra.

Rishi Kashyap married Aditi, Diti, Kadru, Danu, Arishta, Surasa, Surabhi, Vinata, Tamra, Krodhavasa, Ida, Vishva and Muni. Kashyap, by his first wife Aditi had 12 sons including Indra and Vivaswan (Surya). The sons of Aditi are called as Adityas. Indra became the king of gods in heaven whereas Vivaswan (Fourth Manu) married Saranya, daughter of Lord Vishwakarma (one of the Prajapati). Saranya, a goddess of the clouds became the mother of Vaivasvata Manu (Fifth, Sixth and Seventh Manu) and the twins Yama and his sister Yami. Yama became the Lord of Death. All the dynasties on the earth descended from Manu's sons including Brahmins, Kshatriyas, Vaisyas and Shudras. Vaivasvata Manu had ten children and Ila Kanya was the only daughter and all the remaining children were sons. The Sixth Manu is Vaivasvata Manu’s ten children. One of the sons of Vaivasvata Manu is Ikshvaku who established Ikshvaku Dynasty (Solar Dynasty or Suryavansha). Sri Rama (seventh avatar of Vishnu) is a descendent of Ikshvaku Dynasty.

Note: ILA Kanya became the mother of Pururava. Pururava established the lunar dynasty (Somavansha or Chandravansha). Pururava later had six sons by Urvashi. They are Ayus (father of Nahusha), Amavasu, Vishvayu, Shrutayu, Shatayu and Dridhayu. The throne of Pururavas was later inherited by many able descendants from the royal bloodline and they continued to rule for centuries. There list included great kings like Yayati (son of Nahusha), Puru and Yadu (sons of Yayati), Dushyanta, Bharata and later by Kuru kings. Descendants of Yadu are called as Yadavas and descendants of Puru are called as Pauravas. Dushyantha and his son Bharata were Puru’s descendants. According to Rig Veda, Kuru was born after 25 generations of Puru dynasty and this Kuru established the Kuru dynasty. Shantanu is Kuru’s descendant. Kauravas and Pandavas were born after 15 generations of Kuru dynasty. Sri Krishna (ninth avatar of Vishnu) was the descendant from Yadu and he lived in the same generation of Kauravas and Pandavas in which the great Kurushetra war happened.

Related Posts


Total Pageviews